Lega Basket Serie A

The Lega Basket Serie A (LBA) is the highest professional men’s basketball league of Italy since 1920. The LBA, which is played under FIBA rules, currently consists of 17 teams. The mission of the LBA is to become a strong competitive league and a solid competitor in the world of basketball.

Part of the overall ambition of LBA is to improve the infrastructure of basketball arenas in Italy. To support this ambition LBA has contracted The Stadium Consultancy and Istituto per il Credito Sportivo (ICS) to develop the following guidance documents:

  1. An infrastructural development manual, with a generic methodology for the (re)development of basketball arenas in Italy to Serie A standards;
  2. A programme of requirements for basketball arenas for Lega Basket, describing the infrastructure regulations at a functional, spatial and technical level; and
  3. A technical audit of all 16 arenas used in Serie A, to assess the current infrastructure as well as the impact of the proposed requirements on those arenas.

The above guidance and requirements documents are used by the LBA and shared with clubs for the process of redeveloping Italian basketball arenas.

Project details

Lega Basket Serie A / Istituto per il Credito Sportivo


2019 – 2020

Stadium capacity

Resident club(s)
17 clubs

Project type
Planning & Development

Programme of Requirements

The Stadium ConsultancyLega Basket Serie A